Bahcall Fellowships

John Bahcall (1934 - 2005) was a faculty member at the Institute for Advanced Study from 1971 until his death. He made fundamental contributions to astronomy and astrophysics in subjects ranging from solar neutrinos to galactic structure, quasars, and cosmology, and established at the Institute a world-leading postdoctoral program in astrophysics. Among his many other activities, he was a tireless advocate of the Hubble Space Telescope, chaired the National Research Council's decadal survey in astronomy and astrophysics for the 1990's and served as President of the American Astronomical Society from 1990-1992.

To commemorate Bahcall's achievements, the Institute has established the John Bahcall Fellowships to support five-year appointments for outstanding postdoctoral scholars at the Institute. These Fellowships are a tribute to John's achievements, to his love of science and his colleagues, and to his high standards of excellence in research. Institute Trustees, Faculty, and former Members in astrophysics have contributed the funds to endow two Fellowships.  All applicants for SNS membership are automatically considered for Bahcall Fellowships.

Bahcall Fellows:


Liang Dai

2019 - 2020

Tejaswi Nerella

2019 - 2020

Tracy Slatyer

2018 - 2019
  Matthew McQuinn 2016 - 2017
  Doron Kushnir 2015 - 2016
      Kfir Blum 2014 - 2015
  Jo Bovy 2014 - 2015
  Aristotle Socrates 2011 - 2013
  Boaz Katz 2010 - 2014
  Zheng Zheng 2008 - 2009
  Nadia Zakamska 2008 - 2010
  Aldo Serenelli             2007 - 2008
  Christopher Hirata      2006 - 2007
  Enrico Ramirez-Ruiz 2006