Applying for Membership

The School of Natural Sciences will have several openings for members in theoretical physics and astrophysics for the academic year 2015-2016. The positions are at a postdoctoral or higher level and applicants will be selected on the basis of their ability to do research in the areas of astrophysics, theoretical biology, mathematical physics, quantum field theory, particle phenomenology, string theory and quantum gravity.

Postdoctoral members frequently collaborate with each other, with faculty members at the Institute or Princeton University, and with researchers at other institutions. Postdoctoral appointments are for three years with full salary support. We also have openings for long-term (5 year) members and Bahcall Fellows. Salary is above post-doctoral level and is commensurate with qualifications. In addition to exceptional qualifications for pursuing his or her individual research, the successful candidate for a long term membership should be interested in talking to, and possibly collaborating with, other post-doctoral members. Women and minorities are encouraged to apply.

Beginning September 2015 we will offer a few Junior visiting professorships. Applicants should hold a junior faculty or equivalent position. Support will be provided to spend a period between one term and one year at the Institute. Duties will consist of doing your own research and helping make the environment at the IAS stimulating to the young Members of the school.

For more information write to or Michelle Sage, School Administrative Officer, School of Natural Sciences, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, New Jersey 08540. Applications should be made online and received by November 15, unless you are applying to Biology in which case email for further information and membership materials. Please ask your referees to send their letters of recommendation in PDF format to and include the first and last name of the applicant in the subject line.

IAS is proud to have been a host for outstanding Bahcall, Chandra, Hubble, Spitzer, NASA Sagan,  NASA Einstein and NRAO Jansky Fellows, including: Frederic Rasio, Buell Jannuzi, Roeland van der Marel, Max Tegmark, David W. Hogg, Eliot Quataert, Scott Gaudi, Eugene Chiang, Neal Dalal, Feryal Ozel, Enrico Ramirez-Ruiz, Doron Chelouche, Zheng Zheng, Kris Sigurdson, Nadia Zakamska, Shane Davis, Rachel Mandelbaum, Glenn van de Ven, Subo Dong, Rodrigo Fernandez, Joshua Younger, Boaz Katz, Jo Bovy, Brian Lacki,  Kohta Murase, Timothy Brandt, and James Owen.