Joint Institute for Advanced Study / Princeton University Astrophysics Colloquium

Current Colloquium Schedule

Date Speaker Title
Tuesday, September 19, 2017 Mark Voit (Michigan State University) Circumgalactic Precipitation
Tuesday, September 26, 2017 Douglas Lin (UC Santa Cruz/IAS) Rejuvenation of stars, metal enrichment, and implants of gravitational wave generators in AGN disks: Analog of planetary systems around massive black holes
Tuesday, October 3, 2017 Michael Meyer (University of Michigan) Exoplanet Demographics versus Host Star Mass: Clues to Formation from Direct Imaging
Tuesday, October 10, 2017 Yuri Levin (Columbia University and CCA) Dynamics of strongly magnetic neutron stars
Tuesday, October 17, 2017 Ramesh Narayan (Harvard) Numerical Simulations of Black Hole Accretion
Tuesday, October 24, 2017 Scott Bolton (SWRI) The New Jupiter: Results from the Juno Mission
Tuesday, November 7, 2017 Benjamin Wandelt (Flatiron Institute, New York, and Sorbonne University, Paris) What can we learn from cosmic structure?
Tuesday, November 14, 2017 Adrian Liu (UC Berkeley) Accessing Cosmic Dawn via the Hydrogen Epoch of Reionization Array
Tuesday, November 21, 2017 Vasily Belokurov (University of Cambridge) Exploring the Galactic Halo with Gaia
Tuesday, November 28, 2017 Marta Volonteri (IAP Paris) Growing Black Holes in Growing Galaxies
Tuesday, December 5, 2017 Daniel Holz (University of Chicago) Hearing and seeing GW170817
Tuesday, December 12, 2017 Vicky Kaspi (McGill) Fast Radio Bursts


Colloquiums in the fall are held on Tuesdays at 11:00 am in the Bloomberg Hall Lecture Hall at the School of Natural Sciences, Institute for Advanced Study (IAS).
Coffee and refreshments are served at 10:30 am in the Bloomberg Hall Commons Room.

Videos of past talks at IAS can be found on the IAS video server or on YouTube.

The Joint Astrophysics Colloquium is immediately followed by the Bahcall Lunch.
Location: Marilyn and James Simons Hall, Dilworth Room.
Time: 12:30 pm.

How to get to the IAS.

For questions please contact Jean-Baptiste Fouvry, Marcel Schmittfull or Dawn Dunbar.

Previous Semesters:

2004-2005:   Fall   Spring
2005-2006:   Fall   Spring
2006-2007:   Fall   Spring
2007-2008:   Fall   Spring
2008-2009:   Fall   Spring
2009-2010:   Fall   Spring
2010-2011:   Fall   Spring
2011-2012:   Fall   Spring
2012-2013:   Fall   Spring
2013-2014:   Fall   Spring
2014-2015:   Fall   Spring
2015-2016:   Fall   Spring
2016-2017:   Fall   Spring