picture of Peter Goldreich

Papers on ADS

Papers on astro-ph

Shaw Prize lecture on Chaos

Peter Goldreich

School of Natural Sciences
Institute for Advanced Study
NJ 08540

Phone: (609) 734 8016
Fax: (609) 951 4402
Email: pmg -at- ias.edu

Born July 14, 1939; New York City, New York

B.S. (Engineering Physics), 1960, Cornell University
Ph.D. (Physics), 1963, Cornell University

Professional Appointments
2003-present:     Professor, School of Natural Sciences, IAS, Princeton
1981-present:     Lee A. DuBridge Professor of Astrophysics & Planetary Physics, Caltech (emeritus since 2003)
1969-1981:     Professor of Planetary Science & Astronomy, Caltech
1966-1969:     Associate Professor of Planetary Science & Astronomy, Caltech
1964-1966:     Assistant Professor of Astronomy & Geophysics, UCLA
1963-1964:     Postdoctoral Fellow, Cambridge University
1961-1963:     Instructor (part time), Cornell University

Woodrow Wilson Honorary Fellowship, 1960-1961; Andrew Dixon White Fellowship, 196O~1961; National Science Foundation Fellowship, 1961-1963; National Academy of Sciences, National Research Council Postdoctoral Fellowship, 1963-1964; Sloan Foundation Fellowship, 1968-1970; Elected National Academy of Sciences, 1972; Elected American Academy of Arts and Sciences, 1973; Henry Norris Russell Lecturer of the American Astronomical Society, 1979; California Scientist of the Year, 1981; Chapman Medal of the Royal Astronomical Society, 1985; Dirk Brouwer Award of the Division on Dynamical Astronomy of the American Astronomical Society, 1986; Amos de Shalit Lecturer at the Weitzmann Institute, 1986; Thomas Gold Lecturer at Cornell University, 1987; Regents Fellow, Smithsonian Institution of Washington, 1988-1990; Miller Professorship, University of California at Berkeley, 1990; Kuiper Prize of the Division for Planetary Science, American Astronomical Society, 1992; Morris Loeb Lecturer, Harvard University, 1992; Gold Medal of the Royal Astronomical Society, 1993; National Medal of Science, 1995; Sackler Lecturer, University of Toronto, 1998; Antoinette de Vaucouleurs Medal, University of Texas, 1999; Nathan Rosen Distinguished Lecturer, Technion, 1999; Sackler Lecturer, Harvard University, 2004; Elected Foreign Member of Royal Society, 2004; Harris Lecturer, MIT, 2005; Grande médaille of French Academy of Sciences, 2006, Shaw Prize, 2007

Graduate Advisor: Thomas Gold

Postdoctoral Advisor: Fred Hoyle

Graduate Students
Dick McCray, Dick DeFouw, Douglas Keeley, John Kwan, Bill Ward, Don Strange, Jim Roberts, Anneila Sargent, Philip Nicholson, Charles Alcock, Jack Wisdom, James Fillmore, Carolyn Porco, Pawan Kumar, Greg Willette, Andreas Reisenegger, Yanqin Wu, Jason Maron, Eugene Chiang, Yoram Lithwick, Alison Farmer, Junjun Liu

Postdoctoral Fellows
Chris McKee, Catherine Cesarsky, Moshe Elitzur, Scott Tremaine, Steven Weber, , Nicole Borderies, Ramesh Narayan, Jeremy Goodman, Renu Malhotra, Norman Murray, Pierre-Yves Longaretti, S. Sridhar, Mikael Sahrling, Dong Lai, Re'em Sari